TRHC supports our local young equestrians in their educational pursuits.

The Program

The Tryon Riding & Hunt Club (TR&HC) is proud to support equine enthusiasts in Polk, Henderson, Rutherfordton, Spartanburg, and Greenville counties who are pursuing college educations. This year the organization will continue to offer educational scholarships to high school graduating seniors and to individuals currently attending a college or university institution.

The Club has set aside $5,000 in total for the scholarship program this year. Amount of individual scholarships may vary but will be no lower than $500. Recipients must meet two criteria: 1) be either a high school graduating senior or currently attending an institution of higher learning, and 2) be a member of a local or national equestrian organization such as the TR&HC, BRHJA, U.S. Pony Club, Tryon Hounds, Green Creek Hounds, USEF, USEA or actively participating in the equine industry in North Carolina counties of Polk, Hendersonville, Rutherfordton or South Carolina counties of Spartanburg and Greenville.. Priority for award selection will be given to high school seniors. Financial need will also be a consideration.

Applicants need not be TR&HC Members or Volunteers to apply, however Members, relatives of Members, or TR&HC Volunteers will receive priority consideration in the determination of scholarship awards.

To apply for a scholarship, please complete an application found below. A financial need statement and interview may be requested. Details from the candidate’s financial aid office are requested on the application so we know where to send any scholarship funds. A photo of the applicant is also requested to be submitted along with the application.

Applicants may not be related to any TR&HC Board of Director member, officer, or employee.

The scholarship recipient may be requested to volunteer for one of our programs later this year.

The College Scholarship Program has an application deadline of April 15. Our goal is to award our scholarships by May 15.


2020 Recipients:

2020 Amanda Fisher

Amanda Fisher
USC Aiken

2020 Eric militia Lt (4)

Eric Harrelson
Berry College

Emma Hay

Emma Hay
Appalachian State University

2020 Caroline King

Caroline King
UNC Chapel Hill

Keileigh McMurray

Keileigh McMurray
USC Aiken

2019 Recipients:


Maren Daniels
Maryville College


Amanda Fisher
USC Aiken


Emelia Frederick
Clemson University


Troy Lieberman
Western Carolina University


Payton Medford
Clemson University